Your Account
    Log into your account here:
       Forgot Password

    Not registered? Sign Up for free
    Registration allows you to keep track of all your content and comments, save bookmarks, and post in all our forums.

What Are The Starter Pokemon Evolutions?

Thank you for printing this page from to come back to check for updates to this guide and much more content for Pokemon Sword and Shield
Last Updated:

Like all Mainstream Pokemon Games, players will have the chance to choose from three Starter Pokemon when beginning their journey. In Pokemon Sword & Shield, players will have the choice between Grookey, Scorbunny and Sobble. Like all Starter Pokemon, The Galar Region Starters can evolve twice. However, unlike previously released Starter Pokemon, the Galar Region Starters will be a Pure Type. This means that no matter how many times they evolve, they will remain the same type and won't add a dual type.

All three Galar Region Starters will first evolve at Level 16, and later into their Final Evolution at Level 35. Grookey, the Grass Type Starter, will evolve into Thwackey and then later into Rillaboom. Scorbunny, the Fire Type Starter, will evolve into Raboot and then later into Cinderace. And finally, Sobble, the Water Type Starter, will evolve into Drizzile and then later into Inteleon. The Games can be won no matter the Starter Pokemon a player chooses.

Now that you know all about the Starter Pokemon, Click Here to learn about all the New Pokemon being introduced in Pokemon Sword & Shield!

Very Helpful
Not Useful

We have questions and answers related to this topic which may also help you:

Anything missing from this guide?
ASK A QUESTION for Pokemon Sword and Shield


Comments for What Are The Starter Pokemon Evolutions?

Add your comment here
No comments yet. Tell us what you think to be the first.
Table of ContentsClose
  • Pre-Release Spoilers & Rumors
  • The Isle Of Armor Pre-Release Spoilers
  • The Crown Tundra Pre-Release Spoilers
  • Main Story & Post Game Walkthrough
  • The Isle Of Armor Walkthrough
  • The Crown Tundra Walkthrough
  • Main Story Pokemon
  • The Isle Of Armor Pokemon
  • The Crown Tundra Pokemon
  • Main Story Legendary Pokemon
  • The Isle Of Armor Legendary Pokemon
  • The Crown Tundra Legendary Pokemon
  • Pokemon Gyms
  • Champion Cup
  • Champion Cup Rematches
  • Galarian Star Tournament
  • Max Raid Battles
  • Dynamax Adventures
  • Main Story Characters
  • The Isle Of Armor Characters
  • The Crown Tundra Characters
  • Battle Tower
  • Main Story Features
  • The Isle Of Armor Features
  • The Crown Tundra Features
  • Online Features
  • Wild Pokemon Mechanics
  • Main Story Items
  • The Isle Of Armor Items
  • The Crown Tundra Items
  • Main Story Hints & Tips
  • The Isle Of Armor Hints & Tips
  • The Crown Tundra Hints & Tips
Click to close