Google+  
 

Game Reviews for WWE SmackDown! Here Comes the Pain

Quick Reviews
 
Jump to page  Page PlayStation 2 of 2 1 2 »
 
Added 29 Dec 2004, ID #12255
A worthwhile update of the popular series. It has everytin SYM had and it just updated it. Must have for fans of the wwe. Or if you just want a good wrestling game look towards WWE: Smackdown! vs Raw or def jam: fight for new york.
 
Ask.com and get
 
Added 6 Dec 2004, ID #11913
This game is a sweat a## game with awesome wrestling action, I would give it 7 out of 10 stars.
 
Simply The Best Added 11 Sep 2004, ID #10779
First of all, I have to say what a fantastic job THQ and Yukes did on creating this super realistic wrestling game.

It is such a shame that wrestling is not real, it would be brilliant if it was.

I was so amazed by the out-of-this-world graphics that I drooled over my controller.

HCTP includes world class wrestlers to date: Brock Lesnar, Undertaker,Triple H, The Rock, Stone Cold and even Rey Mysterio (who looks wicked)!

Some classic Legends such as Old School Undertaker can be bought in Season modes massive Shopzone, which has some amazing wrestlers attires.

The only negative things I shall point out are that Legends like Jeff Hardy and Hollywood Hulk Hogan aren't in the game.

But other than that, here is my overall verdict:

Graphics: 100% Every wrestlers looks shockingly real

Gameplay: 95% Can be a bit corny sometimes, but the by far ultimate ever gameplay on a wrestling game

Sound: 92% It's a shame that it doesn't sound as good on the commercial, but still, amazingly realsitic

Game Mode: 97% A wide selection of matches, such as Elimination Chamber, First Blood, Hardcore, Elimination Tag and 30 man Royal Rumble. The Buried Alive match unfortunately isn't on the game, witch is a real blow

Season Mode: 98% Hundreds of different storylines, from forming a faction, to having a gorgeous Diva as your mananger. Rock on!

Final Verdict: Overall a heavily addictive game that will keep you locked in your room for months. 100%


BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!
 
2nd best game Added 27 Aug 2004, ID #10642
WWE games are good games no class games well smackdown games any way I give it a 9 out of 10 because the story mode is to short but game is still a class game...
 
Here comes the pain Added 14 Jul 2004, ID #10025
From the moment I got this game at christmas I knew it was something really special.

When I eventually put it on I was shocked at the graphics and wide range of match types.

It has all of my favourite wrestlers in it and some oldies are there too.

The CAW was realy good it has all the things ypu need to create the wrestlers who unfortunately are not in the game like Eugene,Chavo classic,Mordecai and Billy Gunn.

So far I have been champion 6 times with a created superstar and I'm not stopping now.

If I had to give this game a rating out of 10 I would give it 11/10
 
Smackdown 6 Added 1 Jul 2004, ID #9604
This is the best wrestling game on playstation 2 becuase the features on all the wreslters are great.

THQ has now allowed bleeding to be in the game and in season mode you can now make wrestlers better by adding to their attributes.

I give this game nine out of ten
 
Added 11 Jun 2004, ID #9050
THQ It would be a nicer game if it had the announcers and superstars actually talk instead of having two read every thing.And also when a superstar enters the ring it should intro duce him,where he is from,and how much he weighs.I have to admitt THQ you have intencely good graphics and great matches.But there is room for some big time inprovements like lights out match,casket match(buried alive).And why in the hell dont you have FBI,Zach Gowen,Hulk Hogan, Jeff Hardy,and more Legends to Unlock like Andre the giant,Bam Bam Bigalo.Please improve on next game.


But I must say I did like the game

....BUT PLEASEEEEEEEEE improve
 
Added 1 Jun 2004, ID #8898
Smackdown here comes the pain is the greatest wrestling game ever to be invented!!!!

Graphics 100% storyline 50% (because you only do 1 season) Matches flippin brilliant 100% + 900%=1000%
 
Wow Added 9 Apr 2004, ID #8009
This is a great game
Graphics 100%
Sound 50%
Gameplay 78%
Overall 100%
 
Added 21 Feb 2004, ID #7010
This is the most realistic WWE Game you can find.

WWE Raw 2 is real slow and Wrestlemania 19 is so unrealistic.

9/10 from me.

Rave is betta then Rock so naaaaaaa 2 the rockers in ere.....
 
Rubbish game Added 31 Jan 2004, ID #6602
The newest Smackdown game is the most gayest game I have ever seen. The graphics are good but half the superstars are missing. No excuses THQ , superstars like the Bashams the FBI and Zack Gowen are missing.

The list goes on and on. Some matches like the buried alive and the Ambulance Match are missing but some of the good matches are there like the Emlination Chamber.

THQ better take their time over the next smackdown game and season mode must improve or I'll show you my finisher move which will break your back
 
Awsome!!!!!!!! Added 21 Jan 2004, ID #6379
WWE here comes the pain is just awsome!

I have never played on a game as good as this.

It's just totally ten out of ten!

Just get it you will luv it!

10
-
10 (*_*)
 
Best Game Ever Added 2 Jan 2004, ID #5932
This is the best wrestling game ever it has great graphics and it has blood, its better then the other wrestling games....!
 
Best wrestling game ever!!!!!! Added 29 Dec 2003, ID #5712
This is probably the best wrestling game I have ever played. Much much better than the other smackdown games, its graphics are so much more detailed and theres heaps to do in the season, and also there are 2 new match types like the Elimination chamber and the Bra and Panties match.

A must by for all wrestling fans!!!!!!!
 
This review Added 27 Nov 2003, ID #5071
The fifth game in the WWE series is by far better than all the other games. THQ have made a brilliant job of creating this game.

The only thing that disappointed me was that there were some good characters like The Bashams or F.B.I. The thing I liked was that there were some good legends like Sgt. Slaughter and Old School Undertaker.

The new season has been improved like the option to either to attack taunt or respect after each match. some new games have been added to the game like the Elimination Chamber and the Bra and Panties match.

The new feature that I loved the most was the blood it really does make the game more fun and life-like, so obviously if there is blood in the game what type of match do you think there would be yep it's the First Blood Match.

The create a character is pretty much the same so there is no point in talkin about it. This game has got to be one of the best I've seen so the rating is 96% it only gets this due to the fact that there have been characters left out. Otherwise buy this game now because it is brilliant.

Hope you liked this review because it's my first. Hope you have fun when you buy the game.
 
Fanbloodytastic Added 18 Nov 2003, ID #4882
This game is absouloutly the ultimate wrestling game that the playstation company has ever released.

I love the blood so much, they have finally included the BRA & PANTIES matches, I am loving everything new they have done on this game and they have finally included Rey Mysterio!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Out of every game I have played this has to get Infinity out of ten! P.S- Stacy Kiebler's the best Diva in the WWE, no aurguing with that!!!!!

P.P.S- It's Fanbloodytastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Added 14 Nov 2003, ID #4847
HCTP is the newest instalment in the massively popular Smackdown series.

It features more sex, violence and bone-crunching mayhem than ever before, with gorier graphics and much more in-depth gameplay.

WWE Smackdown: Here Comes the Pain is released on 7th November, and Torrie Wilson will be arriving in the UK for a week of promotions on 10th November. Checkout the Competition featuring Torrie

But the most popular feature in HCTP will no doubt be the brand spanking new Bra & Panties Mode.

Players can challenge any of the sexy WWE divas (including, of course, the lovely Torrie) to a catfight, and then use special combo moves to rip off their opponent’s clothes.

The first fighter to get stripped down to their scanties must concede defeat.

"WWE SmackDown! Here Comes the Pain will feature several new gameplay enhancements, such as a new submission system, player-specific grappling mechanics and a countering system that will improve the overall dynamics every match," said Tiffany Ternan, senior vice president of THQ.

Developed by Yuke's of Japan, WWE SmackDown! Here Comes the Pain showcases more than 55 WWE Superstars including, Brock Lesnar, Scott Steiner, Rey Mysterio and Goldberg.

The drama comes to life like never before with players creating, playing and developing their own Superstar. TV-style presentation will also be enhanced with new dynamic camera angles, improved audio, Superstar voiceovers, realistic animations and improved arena and crowd elements.

Characters now have different individual attributes, such as Technique, Speed and Stamina, and Season Mode has been fully expanded; as a result, winning tournaments is no longer simply about bashing buttons but also thinking strategically.

The game includes an all-new story mode that is being created exclusively by WWE writers depicting both fictitious story paths and classic WWE moments.

Enhanced gameplay elements with new match types and sensational production values recreates all of the electricity of actual WWE programming.

Players can track their progress with seasonal stats, earn money to build up Superstar abilities and unlock hidden features.

The overall gameplay has been enhanced and features real-life attributes of strength, submission, technique, speed and stamina.

These new attributes will allow players to wear down their opponents and take advantage of each Superstar's unique abilities and extensive move sets.

Features:

Exclusive story mode with original plot lines developed by WWE writers.

Unique Superstar abilities featuring real-life attributes of strength, submission, technique, speed and stamina.

More than 55 WWE Superstars.

Improved controls including an in-depth countering and interactive submission system.

New match types including Bra & Panty, First Blood and Elimination Chamber.

Enhanced production values featuring dynamic camera transitions, an improved audio experience, Superstar voice over and more realistic animations with specular highlighting.

RATING 94%
 
Added 10 Nov 2003, ID #4785
The fifth installment of the Smackdown series was somewhat, dissapointing to say the least.

Don't get me wrong, it did have some key points, but it was not as good as all the hype.

Season mode, like all Smackdown games, was the same for almost all the characters.

You eventually get down to the point where you found yourself re-reading what you read an hour ago.

Also, it was missing some current characters that were out wrestling during the creation of Here Comes the Pain. Bashams anyone? Molly Holly? Perhaps Spike? Didn't think so.

What I did find suprizing was that there were some good legends, but not enough.

I agree however, that THQ and Yukes did do a good job on the graphics.

For all of you WWE fans, this is a great game to your collection. Otherwise, rent it.

7 out of 10
 
A huge step forward. Added 4 Nov 2003, ID #4689
I had been waiting ever since this summer to find out all I could when finding out that there was going to be another addition to the Smack Down series.

Along with waiting to find out more about the game I in turn wanted to get a look what the game would offer as far as graphics.

Well I can honestly say THQ and Yukes have taken the Smack Down series to a whole new level of video game wrestling with Here Comes the Pain.

The first thing I noticed when I put the game in was that it didn't take as long as on previous Smack Down games to get to the starting menu. From there you could play exhibition mode, season, create a wrestler or go to in game options.

The first match I played was the Hell in a Cell, it looked just like the one Smack Down: Shut Your Mouth but once the match started I could see how improved and clear and smooth the graphics and game play was.

One thing differs on the Hell in a Cell on this new edition of the game is that on the top of cell you have two squares next to each other in the middle where you put your opponent (or you get put though if you are not careful) through the top.

On this game though when you slam them the first time on one of the squares they dent and bend a little and then the next time a superstar get slammed on that spot, down to the mat they go. I though that was pretty cool.

Now to get to the Elimination Chamber. Once I had read that the Elimination Chamber was on the game I got that much more impatient to get it.

My curiosity was through the roof to see where they would go with the chamber and to determine for myself if it would be a difficult match to play and manuvere.

Well if you haven't played it yet, don't worry, the match is awesome, you can rub your opponents face in it, slingshot them into it, climb around it and get on top of the chambers to pull off some crazy dare-devil Jeff Hardy ariel assaults on your opponents. In other words, very sweet graphics and game play for the chamber.

Also who can forget about WWF: Attitude for PlayStation one. What I think made that game sweet was that you had blood in it, you could make your opponents bleed, you could get busted open and guess what.

No seriously guess...... You can bust your opponent open in Here Comes the Pain as well, you can wear them down and use a chair, a big boot, rub their face in the Chamber walls or the Cell walls and bust them open in the face watch them bleed.

Since there is blood though I don't think I have to tell you that the First Blood match is in the game to. Now those matches along with the Bra & Panties match (which personally, seeing two video game women pull/rip each others clothes doesn't do same for me when seeing it on T.V. so I don't to much care for that match on the game) are really setting the bar even higher for the next Smack Down video (if there is one, which I am pretty sure there should be but, you never know).

All in all through the create a wrestler which was the same, nothing changed and wasn't hard to make your character in what you wanted. I liked how they didn't have the draft, you could change shows and pick which one you wanted to start out on and edit both rosters if you wanted to before starting your season.

Another thing to add is that they left out the commentary, which was good. I din't like playing and listening to J.R. and King say the samething over and over. Also the season mode is better and unlike the Smack Down: Shut Your Mouth, you can have the belts along with your stats and superstar points carry over from season to season, now I have only gone though a few seasons so I don't know who long the story lines go, I hope the season doesn't end like in Smack Down 2: Know Your Role.

And this game is truly interactive, you get asked about practically everything from what type of match you want to defend your title in to if you want a manager or to start a faction.

This game is a huge step forward and I have not seen or come across one thing to complain about. The game has all the titles, the Hardcore, Light Heavyweight, Intercontinental, U.S., Womens, WWE Championship and the World Heavyweight Championship belt. Get ready to be blown away and also have fun.
 
A huge step forward. Added 4 Nov 2003, ID #4688
I had been waiting ever since this summer to find out all I could when finding out that there was going to be another addition to the Smack Down series.

Along with waiting to find out more about the game I in turn wanted to get a look what the game would offer as far as graphics.

Well I can honestly say THQ and Yukes have taken the Smack Down series to a whole new level of video game wrestling with Here Comes the Pain.

The first thing I noticed when I put the game in was that it didn't take as long as on previous Smack Down games to get to the starting menu. From there you could play exhibition mode, season, create a wrestler or go to in game options.

The first match I played was the Hell in a Cell, it looked just like the one Smack Down: Shut Your Mouth but once the match started I could see how improved and clear and smooth the graphics and game play was.

One thing differs on the Hell in a Cell on this new edition of the game is that on the top of cell you have two squares next to each other in the middle where you put your opponent (or you get put though if you are not careful) through the top.

On this game though when you slam them the first time on one of the squares they dent and bend a little and then the next time a superstar get slammed on that spot, down to the mat they go. I though that was pretty cool.

Now to get to the Elimination Chamber. Once I had read that the Elimination Chamber was on the game I got that much more impatient to get it.

My curiosity was through the roof to see where they would go with the chamber and to determine for myself if it would be a difficult match to play and manuvere.

Well if you haven't played it yet, don't worry, the match is awesome, you can rub your opponents face in it, slingshot them into it, climb around it and get on top of the chambers to pull off some crazy dare-devil Jeff Hardy ariel assaults on your opponents. In other words, very sweet graphics and game play for the chamber.

Also who can forget about WWF: Attitude for PlayStation one. What I think made that game sweet was that you had blood in it, you could make your opponents bleed, you could get busted open and guess what.

No seriously guess...... You can bust your opponent open in Here Comes the Pain as well, you can wear them down and use a chair, a big boot, rub their face in the Chamber walls or the Cell walls and bust them open in the face watch them bleed.

Since there is blood though I don't think I have to tell you that the First Blood match is in the game to. Now those matches along with the Bra & Panties match (which personally, seeing two video game women pull/rip each others clothes doesn't do same for me when seeing it on T.V. so I don't to much care for that match on the game) are really setting the bar even higher for the next Smack Down video (if there is one, which I am pretty sure there should be but, you never know).

All in all through the create a wrestler which was the same, nothing changed and wasn't hard to make your character in what you wanted. I liked how they didn't have the draft, you could change shows and pick which one you wanted to start out on and edit both rosters if you wanted to before starting your season.

Another thing to add is that they left out the commentary, which was good. I din't like playing and listening to J.R. and King say the samething over and over. Also the season mode is better and unlike the Smack Down: Shut Your Mouth, you can have the belts along with your stats and superstar points carry over from season to season, now I have only gone though a few seasons so I don't know who long the story lines go, I hope the season doesn't end like in Smack Down 2: Know Your Role.

And this game is truly interactive, you get asked about practically everything from what type of match you want to defend your title in to if you want a manager or to start a faction.

This game is a huge step forward and I have not seen or come across one thing to complain about. The game has all the titles, the Hardcore, Light Heavyweight, Intercontinental, U.S., Womens, WWE Championship and the World Heavyweight Championship belt. Get ready to be blown away and also have fun.
 
Jump to  page Page PlayStation 2 of 2 1 2 »
 
Latest Forum Posts
 
Game Talk
LINKS FROM THE WEB..
 
 

 
Latest Videos