Google+  
 
SuperCheat's Pokemon Brawl 2014 is now on! Get involved and see who's winning here...

Game Reviews for Pokemon FireRed

Full Reviews

 
ID Author Date Score
108 time_monster67 7th Jul 2005 88% Read Review
164 kyle_cliffe 22nd Aug 2005 84% Read Review
190 Z Fighter77996 4th Oct 2005 94% Read Review
747 GottaCatchThemAll 11th Dec 2007 88% Read Review
1127 Pokemonhacker68 26th Jun 2009 86% Read Review
 
Quick Reviews
 
Best of it's gen! Added 7 Feb 2014, ID #13971
Only problems: Not as may game-specific Pokemon
Pros: Can put pkemon from Johto AND Hoenn regions with us version cheats.
 
Ask.com and get
 
Fire Red Added 7 Sep 2013, ID #13927
This is the first Pokemon game that I really played and got attached to. No other game has been able to be more fun than this. It doesn't have a ton of Pokemon, and it keeps it simple.
 
Great Added 20 Apr 2013, ID #13866
I love it! Graphics/colors are a little bit better then Pokemon Red, but I think that's just because the edges happen to be a little more round. I LOVE the starter Pokemon!
 
Pokemon FireRed Added 8 Aug 2012, ID #13785
As an updated version to the first Pokemon generation games, Pokemon FireRed played an amazing part to help us see the Pokemon world in color and in better detail. This awesome GBA game is great for when wanting to play a game with an exciting adventure with twist and turns. If I were giving this game a complete rate out of 10, I would give it a 9.5!
 
Awesome Added 1 Nov 2007, ID #11440
This game was awesome.

Gameplay 10/10: Once you start playing, you get stuck in.
Sound 7/10: Some of the music is really good. Other music was distracting and horrendous.
Extras 8/10: The the mini-games give you something to do when you get tired of Pokemon battles. But the downside is that you need a wireless adapter and someone else to play the mini-games with.
Multiplayer 10/10: You can battle people, play mini-games, trade with people, go and make new friends in the union room or crush berries! Loads to do!
Difficulty 6.5/10: Its not too easy or not too hard. But if you are stuck on someone trainer, the game can get instantly boring.
Lastability 9/10: Even when you defeat the pokemon league, there is still so much to do. Mch unlike Pokemon Red and Blue. When you defeat the Pokemon League in the old games, all there is to do is to catch Mewtwo.
Overall 9.8/10: This games passed my expectations. If you are looking for a good Pokemon game, I highly recommend Pokemon FireRed and LeafGreen.
 
Pokerus Added 16 Apr 2007, ID #10658
I am goin to tell you about this virous that i have encounted on pokemon fire red and also on my pokemon emerald.For starters this is not like a disease or anything that could fully infect your game and make it never work again,its just a simple infection.Firstly if one of your pokemon have this Pokerus infection dont try and trade it because your probly just wasting your precious time compleating your pokedex.If you try and trde a pokerus infected pokemon its not going to harm your game it will just cancell the trade no big deal.Secondly your probly wondering how you can avoid catching this virous.Well you cant avoid it it just happens.Its usually on a pokemon that is obtained by a gameshark usually a shiny pokemon.
 
Great game Added 19 Feb 2007, ID #10334
I liked this game alot. But.... The story line was to close to Red and Blue. Thye did add the sevii islands wich is good. It was a little confusing when trying to get the saphire though. That part was kinda hard. If you played Red or BLue, you new excactly what was going to happen in this one(excluding the sevii islands). The graphics were awesome, finally, the old pokemon in great graphics. The music was the same as Red and Blue, but more like a modern remix. The music gets boring after a while. I\'d say a 98%. which would be....hang on...uhh.....ok...carry the one......add the 5......invert and multiply......... a 9 and 3/4 out of 10.




P.S. just a little fun with the math thing, were I worked it out.
 
Added 30 Nov 2006, ID #9772
This game is great. I love it! The graphics are great and the storyline is amazing!!!!!!!!
Storyline- You are an aspiring trainer and are introduced into the vivid world of pokemon.
Graphics- The graphics of Pokemon FireRed/LeafGreen are amazing!! They display every waking moment with a nice picture and great color. The details on the pokemons appearences are of such quality I cannot describe it.
Sound- The sound effects are great. But the music gets boring after a while.
In general, this game is great. From the storyline to the graphics to the sound, this game heightened my expectations for future pokemon gams.
I give Pokemon FireRed/LeafGreen a 10 out of 10.
 
Pokemon Fire Red Added 18 Aug 2006, ID #9020
This Pokemon Fire Red Game Is A Good Game And There Are Better Games Out there But For One Thing This Game Is Great. It Let\'s You Pick Where,Who,What you Want to pick nad How You want to play.....I Had Fun nad I Hope you will To..
Im Just starting a new game...I Already Did It 2 times!
The Graphics are PRETTY good but the other new Pokemon Games Like Emerald are also great.
The Game Play Is Great on this they set it up so good and it took so long.
Overall I Give this game a 9 for everything!
 
Best Pokemon Game Added 20 Jun 2006, ID #8365
Easily the best in the series. Better graphics then all the others. A basic repeat of pokemons origional red, but with a twist. In the game the pokedex you have obtained from the proffesor can list the info, height, weight, and area that a pokemon lives in. Not just for the origional 150 of red and blue or the 250 of gold and silver, but for all 386 pokemon in existants. That inclueds even the newest pokemon Deoxys.
 
Fire Red Review Added 3 Oct 2005, ID #6633
This game is great. I should have reviewed earlier. Anyway, the graphics are ok, and the story line is just like blue and red except for the islands. I love the Seveii Islands most of all. It ruled. I liked the story line, the graphics, and the sound. One of the best Pokemon RPG game created by Nintendo. I really liked this game most of them all. But Emerald is newer than Fire Red. It doesn\'t matter. I loved this game.
 
Not bad Added 23 Aug 2005, ID #6326
Not bad at all. it's a good game, also, I have been staying up all night playing this because I'm hooked!

This game is irresistable and you just HAVE to get it! I have never played a better game yet.

I am gonna get emerald though. I wonder if it is as good as this game... it Probably will be, but still, this is a very good game and well done to the people who made it.

We all thank you for making this wonderful game. Thank you.
 
I love this game Added 27 Mar 2005, ID #4661
This is a wounderful game it has very few flaws

Some good things about it is that there are cool new graphics, even more places to go, wireless adapters, an actually fair battle tower, and even more side quests.

But with every good thing there comes some bad

Like its to much like red blue and yellow.

Specific Good Attrubites about Pokemon Fire Red:

1. The elite four! the second time around, they become stronger so you can keep up with your training your pokemon.also the second time challenging the elite four,uses some pokemon from gold, silver, and crystal versions.

2. The 9 Islands are. Fun, Adventurous , and with the new pokemon! there are many things to do-- including getting TOGEPI! its really cute. also there are many, and i mean many, side-quests. and a link game corner. the sevii islands-- my favorite part of the game.mostly because its new and adds the special twist plus i love my deoxys.

3. Team Rocket's new plans!i men if you did the same thing team rocket would be a easy and they would be gone for the rest of the game after the 8 gymbut a majority of it is fun. i am very happy with the new team rocket's plans.
---------------------
Specific Bad Attributes about Pokemon Fire Red:

1. Relation to Pokemon Red, Blue, and Yellow. too much like those games.although there are many new things in the game to keep me busy, the main storyline is about the old game and same exact people do almost the same exact thing. not that they can on the 9 islands because there new ya! happy times

2. some confusing directions in the sevii island/team rocket acts.i mean its really hard

When getting the sapphire, there are many confusing things to do considering: where to do to open the warehouse door, if things in the game really taker part in opening the door(ex. "tectonix's" memorial site), and getting the door in the ruin's center to get the sapphire. its as complacated as geting the regis on ruby and thats hard
--------------
Very good game. I enjoyed the sevii islands side-quests very much and most of the storyline, even though it was based on the r/b/y games.

Overall Score: 7/10
 
My rating of Fire Red Added 22 Mar 2005, ID #4604
Great Game! ive played it many times and I love it.

Some good things about it is that there are cool new graphics, even more places to go, wireless adapters, an actually fair battle tower, and even more side quests.

Some bad things about the game is that its too much like the old r/b/y, but more things to do.

r/b/y isnt that bad, if the graphics were better then.
-----------------
Specific Good Attrubites about Pokemon Fire Red:

1. The elite four! the second time around, they are stronger so you can keep up with your training.also the second time challenging the elite four, some pokemon from gold, silver, and crystal versions.

2. The Sevii Islands. Fun, Adventurous , and with the new pokemon! there are many things to do-- including getting TOGEPI! one of my favorite when evolved. also there are many, and i mean many, side-quests. and a link game corner. the sevii islands-- my favorite part of the game.

3. Team Rocket's new plans! they are fun and very hard to figure out(like using cut on the wall of the ruin, took me three days to figure is out)but a majority of it is fun. i am very happy with the new team rocket's plans.
---------------------
Specific Bad Attributes about Pokemon Fire Red:

1. Relation to Pokemon Red, Blue, and Yellow. too much like those games.although there are many new things in the game, the main storyline is about the old game and same exact people do almost the same exact thing.

2. some confusing directions in the sevii island/team rocket acts.

When getting the sapphire, there are many confusing things to do considering: where to do to open the warehouse door, if things in the game really taker part in opening the door(ex. "tectonix's" memorial site), and getting the door in the ruin's center to get the sapphire.
--------------
Very good game. I enjoyed the sevii islands side-quests very much and most of the storyline, even though it was based on the r/b/y games.

Overall Score: 9/10
 
Added 19 Mar 2005, ID #4583
I think this game is pretty good. It has good graphics new features, new places, new pokemon, and wirless adapters.

Some bad things about the game is it is almost exactly like Pokemon Red and Blue. The places, gyms, and trainers are almost exactly the same too.

I give this game an 8/10
 
Gameboyblc rating Added 16 Mar 2005, ID #4556
Pokemon fire red is a good adition to the pokemon franchise, it has good graphics and only one part sucks you have to pay when you lose.

I literally can't wait for the next one to come out.

I liked the title display alot and if you pick boy the screen is blue if you pick girl the screen is pink that part is cool.

I like it when you can actulay go to Sevil islands.

I give it a 5 out of 5 that's my review...
 
Added 22 Jan 2005, ID #4152
This game is quite good. The graphics are good for a GBA and the added features are good. The running shoes were a big help.

What I didn't like about this game was it was too much like the original Red and Blue. The Island were added and that was good, but the gyms and areas were pretty much the same.

6/10
 
Pokemon Deja-vu Added 22 Dec 2004, ID #3912
Pokomaniacs all over the world waited for the release of the pokemon red version do over.

The game still follows the plot to the orignal, but now includes nine new islands known as the rainbow islands.

Although it includes these new places to visit, the game itself is still very limited.

Another good feature is the ability to collect all the creatures nintendo have made in the eight years they have being made.

Graphics: Outstanding graphics for an rpg gameboy advance game, but there is still a sense of improvement needed.

Very good details in the landscape. Battles need improvement and this should not be too much of a task for the nintendo graphic designers. 92%

Music: Absolutely no change in the orignal music of ruby and saphire, but I am told there is new music on the two secret islands. 86%

Gameplay: Good old pokemon games never change much and this is no exception ( this could be a good thing or a bad thing) 94%

Overall: To tell you the truth, you could pass this as a ruby and no inexperenced gamer would be able to tell the diference.

It is still what you could call fun, but after months of playing previous games, you just begin to ask why... 91%
 
More Stuff! Yay! Added 30 Jul 2004, ID #3048
• The original Elite Four is back in action, and they've evidently done a good bit of training — your rival, being the champion as we know, has pumped his Pokémon's levels to at least ten levels more than the squad he has on the Red and Blue versions.

• In addition to the Aurora Ticket, a Mystery Ticket will also be circulated by Nintendo. This ticket can be used to access the eighth of the nine islands, which hosts a large, dilapidated citadel that Lugia and Ho-oh have found a home in. Yes, on both versions you get both Pokémon!

• In order to establish a trading connection with Ruby and Sapphire, you don't need to monitor your moves or even your species. However, Bill will have lost the required Ruby and Sapphire Plates to Team Rocket, which reprises its Silph Co and Game Corner business.

• Moltres' location has been moved from Victory Road to the summit of the peak on the first island. It's still at level 50, and can even be acquired if you don't have the Earthbadge.

• On the second island, you will visit a person like the Move Tutor, but you need your preliminary Pokémon and to have evolved it completely. This person can teach yor Pokémon Frenzy Plant, Hydro Cannon, or Blast Burn — depending on whom you started with, of course. These moves have the same properties as Hyper Beam.

• The Technical Machine List is the same as that on Pokémon Sapphire, except that TM30 has been reassigned to Shadow Punch.

• A Breeding Centre appears on the fourth island — yes, the very same as the Ruby and Sapphire Daycare.

• The Unowns are back, and they reside on the seventh island. Now, there are two new forms — an exclamatory and question mark.

And that's it for now! I'll be back with more details later!

Thanks for listening, Crossy
 
Look Into It! Added 29 Jul 2004, ID #3032
As of 9 September 2004, the anticipated reconstructions of the Red and Blue versions will be released around the world for the Game Boy Advance! The world of Kanto is beautifully remastered in the two new games, dubbed Fire Red and Leaf Green — the Blue version is actually the translation of the Japanese Green version, their Blue cartridge wasn't released — and a set of nine islands is added to the south, where Moltres is relocated, era two Pokémon are found and utilised in battle, and Deoxys can be obtained.

Granted, the storyboard runs in equilibrium to the original games, but the addition of the nine islands is very promising indeed, and the strengths and compositions of the gymnasia and Elite Four have been reengineered, making this game somewhat more challenging. A few months or so after the games' release, Nintendo will put the Aurora Ticket, which is used to access the ninth island where Deoxys bides, into circulation, and so a Mystery Events programme will be included on each game.

As a product of enhanced technology and the scant availability of Game Boy Advance supplements, a wireless infrared port will be packaged with each Fire Red and Leaf Green game, the same that was built into the Game Boy Color. You will be able to select a gender for your character and, in effect, rival. And, with the rise of the islands, the Unowns are back and in all of their character variants. All of this makes Fire Red and Leaf Green a necessity for the Pokéfan and by far outdates Red, Blue, and Yellow by expanding the scenery and environment and throwing in gimmicks employed in the versions after Red and Blue. The downside, though, is that you won't encounter Missingno or error Pokémon, and the glitch that can get you Mew has been discovered and corrected.

The display is characteristic of Ruby and Sapphire, and the implementation of all things after Red, Blue, and Yellow — well, almost all — makes this game a hot item to everyone. Get it quickly...!

Thanks for listening, Crossy
 
Latest Forum Posts
 
Game Talk
LINKS FROM THE WEB..
 
 

 
Latest Videos