Google+  
 

Game Reviews for Gran Turismo 3: A-Spec

Quick Reviews
 
The best racing sim ever? Added 6 Feb 2006, ID #19503
Gran Turismo 3 came out quite a while ago now, but it still has gamer going crazy about it. To say the game is a few years old, the graphics are amazing. The gameplay is fantastic, it feels like driving for real. To add onto that, the life-span is amazing. With over 300 cars to buy and unlock, loads of tracks and countless trophys and liscences to purchase. It\'s a game that you\'ll be playing for a long time, and to answer the title; it is the best racing sim ever.

96%
 
Ask.com and get
 
Added 27 Jun 2005, ID #15738
10/10 brilliant even now
 
Very boring game Added 26 Mar 2005, ID #13950
Gt3 is one of the worst games I have ever played!

You can't get racing-car modifications like you do in gt2.
Its very boring
Need for speed underground 2 is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay better than this.
you get to build up your own car in need for speed underground 2
You can't in gt3
The game is very very very poor
and I rate this game a poor 0/10
I rate the graphics 3/5
I rate the part numbers 40/100
 
Racing!! Added 2 Feb 2005, ID #12847
This is a wonderful game to have if you love racing games.

It's filled with hours of fun!

Also, there are tons of cool cars that you can sup-up!
 
A MUST ACCEPT! Added 8 Jan 2005, ID #12445
This game is one of my best games ever played featuring it's extraordinary cool accessibilities such as:

BUY CARS, SELL CARS, TRADE CARS, TUNE/FIX/UPGRADE CARS, WIN CARS, TEST CARS, VIDEO MODE, REAL LIFE DRIVING SIMULATION MODE,
TIME TRIAL, BONUS ITEMS, GRAN TURISMO MODE, LICENCES, GARAGE CAN BE STORING UP TO 200 HUNDRED CARS, CHANGE OIL, REALISTIC, MANY RANGE OS CIRCUITS, RALLY CARS, UNLOCK, SONGS/MUSICS, TOURNAMENTS, TYRE SHOP AND LOTS MORE....

This game may wait for you to buy.
MY RATINGS IS AS FOLLOWS:

GRAPHICS: 9.8
MUSICS/SOUND: 7.4
GAMEPLAY: 10
OVERALL: 8.8
 
GT3 Review Added 11 Apr 2004, ID #8130
GT3 is avery fun and exciting game.

It has very good graphics, detail in cars, and the ability to tune the cars, but come on Polophony, cut out the grocery shopping carts, and put in some speedesters like the DiabloGT1 or the Holman Monaro.

Make the Endurance races shorter, at least 30 laps a race. And pay more money.

Put in cheat codes to get the above listed cars. But otherwise a very good game.

Score A+++++++++++++. (Not really a real grade though).
 
Added 23 Jan 2004, ID #6391
I give this game 8 out of 10 it is hard and lasts a long time, the cars have good grafics and excellent circuits to drive on if you are thinking of getting this game go and get it....!
 
Hi Added 6 Dec 2003, ID #5201
I thought you might want to know that the F1 cars are the best in the game.

Some of you might think the Escudo is, but trust me, go on a twisting road course with a f1 against the Escudo.

I belive you will find a big difference.

Still, if your thinking its better because of its speed, think: how many traks are just straight?

P.s. ( The zonda is good!)
 
Great racing game for officionados Added 7 Dec 2003, ID #5195
Well, if you're into realistic racers, Gran Turismo is the one for you.

Not only is there a good selection of cars to choose from, but you can give them more horse power with lots of after-market parts.

Not only can you give them more power, can you can fine tune the cars performance.

From the individual gear ratios, to the steering through the suspension, reducing the weight of the cars, to adjusting the downforce and ride height.

There's also 39 tracks to choose from to race on. The arcade mode, once you have everything unlocked, is much better this time around.

In case you don't already have the cars you want, you can give the cars the game gives you a try.

Even if you don't have ALL the cars unlocked, the standard set is pretty nice.

From the Aston Matrin Vontage to the Dodge Viper Concept to the Pagani C12S. But, the car selection isn't quite as good as the previos game.

GT 2 had over 500 cars, GT 3 has just over 250. It has a lot more tracks, more than double than the GT 2.

You can also choose the music you can listen to. But most of the music isn't really that good.

You could always turn the BGM race music off and turn on a cd player with your favorite tunes on it.

You can also use what's called the iLink cable.

Since few used it though, it's been removed on the newest model of the PS2.

You can still buy it but it'll be just a little (w/a hint of sarcasm)harder to find.

The next installment of Gran Turismo, he game will feature over 500 cars and over 100 tracks, that's right, over 100 tracks!

No promises abou the game featuring any cars from Lamborghini or Ferrari though so don't get your hopes up until it comes out next year.

So, overall, it's a very solid racer but it has some very solid competiton.
 
An oasis in the game desert Added 28 Nov 2003, ID #5110
I bought GT3 in 2001 before it even hit platinum. I have completed it 2 times already and I still play it.

I get sick of it some times, like someone mentioned earlier it has long races and repeative race series.

Although, you can save your game after the fourth or ninth race and then just load your game if your not satisfied with your price car. This game stretched the standard I have for video games and nothing will ever be the same again.

GT3 came at the right time, good drivingsimulators are a rare thing and the GT series is the #1 in it´s field. A true OASIS in the shallow world of video games. Two thumbs up, 10/10 in all categories.

Keep playing, get better, beat the game.

HTS
 
ID #1535

Well, this is my first game review so bear that in mind . As a veteran of all the Gran Turismo games I am well versed in what makes this such an interesting series. In a word "physics". The Sony game is the first to push the real feel. Unlike Ridge Race V which feels like some floaty computor thing that represents little of what hartdcore racers would consider interesting.








The graphics on this game are second to none. It dethroned Dreamcasts 24 hr Le Mans which breifly held the crown for new level graphics (and is still no slouch even now). Forshadowed by a taste of "hi res" in a section the very first Gran Turismo this out does it as expected. Highlights, shadow , wheel detail are all inhanced by this games refined shader. Truly worthy work.





The cars. Here is where it gets touchy. Very frustrating. This is obviously a Japanese game. How many versions of the Trueno Sprinter or Mitsubishi Lancer do you need ? Apparenty tons according to our happy pals across the sea. Other useless cars include the Vitz, the Clio and a host of other grocery wagons not worth mentioning. Look, we can drive those cars, why would anyone want a simulation of them. Not to slam the current economy car being produced overseas but it creates a huge yawn factor. Huge. The data storage is wasted on these cars totally.Limited space should be used for cars we all want to drive. There are great cars in the game but, on to the next section to explain.





Gameplay. If you played the other two GTs then you must be tire of retaking these liecenc tests. What is this ? Again ? What a waste of time. At least GT 2 let you preload your data so you could get right to the track. This doesn't. I just whipped through and took bronzes or silvers because I couldn't stand the idea of competing to compete AGAIN. Boring because if after all the races if you don't already know how to take a line in a corner you are already dead. Now after you have taken your minimal starting dollars and bought the cheapest car so you can get minor upgrade. Slowly. Fine you say but by the time you get to the professional level be prepare because each race will be twenty minutes. Not only that but most are a series stringing 5 to 10 races together and you MUST do them to complete that level. And NO saves so you can do a few of the series at a time. NONE! . At 22 minutes a shot that is 110 minutes for just a 5 race series. Add to that the F1 has over 73 laps in just one of the races and it's the Cote du Zure, an incredibly slow twisty track. Can you say "GAMESHARK". Here in America where attention defecit is a fact of life this game stands alone as pushing the edge of insanity. Feeling a little scared yet ? Oh, you ain't seen nothing yet baby. The next set of onroad races , the Endurance races run 3 hours or more , each . And there is a ton of them. A ton. Ten or more. I can say without fear of contradiction that few will survive this game. I did, but regret resisting my constant urge to cheat. It made me sick of the game and hate each and every track with a passion.





Prize cars. So what you say, you win cars right ? Well till you hit the professional levels expect a lot of dogs. A lot. Your only joy will be selling them as fast as the button will click. Then the other horror. Like trading cards cars are inconsistantly rotated in the prize section. You may get the same crapola Clio 200 times before you get a good car. To top that it will take winning a 5 race series to find that out . Ouch. Did I pay for this game or did I just become it's slave ? I feel the chains even now. All I wanted was the GT 40. thats all. Forget it bud you are gonna get the Lancer VII again . AGGGH!!!!! What Gran Turismo did for Japanese car awareness, GT3 undoes. It makes you hate Japanese cars and tracks around the world.





Computer drivers, are they aggressive ? Yeah and they can and will knock you out of the way. Unlike real drivers they will hit you with no reguard for damage. This makes what was real about Gran Turismo 3 , unreal. What were they thinking ?





No race mods. Unlike the previous games this one will not allow you to upgrade the normal cars bodies . They will always be normal looking , but you can change wheels, oh, after you have opened up the limited selection by winning levels. The race versions are far up in the levels. Far up. The hot ones are locked but they show you just to tease you with what you will never own. The spinning wheel of prize hand outs will make that fact.





I hate attacking this game. Hate it. No wonder they took so long to get it out. The joy that comes with trying out the race monsters is completely ruined by a game that beleves it has the right to make you repeat tracks over and over, play for untold hours till you can hardly bear the sight of it . While the physics are somewhat improved and the graphics kicked up I have to say that GT 3 is an absolute failure in gameplay. Sad.


Like a date that looks great but turns out to be the most shallow person you ever met, this game has found a way to turn joy into sadness. GT3 gets a hard earned C+








---


Webby's comment - Thanks for the excellent review






 
ID #1533

Well, this is my first game review so bear that in mind . As a veteran of all the Gran Turismo games I am well versed in what makes this such an interesting series. In a word "physics". The Sony game is the first to push the real feel. Unlike Ridge Race V which feels like some floaty computor thing that represents little of what hartdcore racers would consider interesting.








The graphics on this game are second to none. It dethroned Dreamcasts 24 hr Le Mans which breifly held the crown for new level graphics (and is still no slouch even now). Forshadowed by a taste of "hi res" in a section the very first Gran Turismo this out does it as expected. Highlights, shadow , wheel detail are all inhanced by this games refined shader. Truly worthy work.





The cars. Here is where it gets touchy. Very frustrating. This is obviously a Japanese game. How many versions of the Trueno Sprinter or Mitsubishi Lancer do you need ? Apparenty tons according to our happy pals across the sea. Other useless cars include the Vitz, the Clio and a host of other grocery wagons not worth mentioning. Look, we can drive those cars, why would anyone want a simulation of them. Not to slam the current economy car being produced overseas but it creates a huge yawn factor. Huge. The data storage is wasted on these cars totally.Limited space should be used for cars we all want to drive. There are great cars in the game but, on to the next section to explain.





Gameplay. If you played the other two GTs then you must be tire of retaking these liecenc tests. What is this ? Again ? What a waste of time. At least GT 2 let you preload your data so you could get right to the track. This doesn't. I just whipped through and took bronzes or silvers because I couldn't stand the idea of competing to compete AGAIN. Boring because if after all the races if you don't already know how to take a line in a corner you are already dead. Now after you have taken your minimal starting dollars and bought the cheapest car so you can get minor upgrade. Slowly. Fine you say but by the time you get to the professional level be prepare because each race will be twenty minutes. Not only that but most are a series stringing 5 to 10 races together and you MUST do them to complete that level. And NO saves so you can do a few of the series at a time. NONE! . At 22 minutes a shot that is 110 minutes for just a 5 race series. Add to that the F1 has over 73 laps in just one of the races and it's the Cote du Zure, an incredibly slow twisty track. Can you say "GAMESHARK". Here in America where attention defecit is a fact of life this game stands alone as pushing the edge of insanity. Feeling a little scared yet ? Oh, you ain't seen nothing yet baby. The next set of onroad races , the Endurance races run 3 hours or more , each . And there is a ton of them. A ton. Ten or more. I can say without fear of contradiction that few will survive this game. I did, but regret resisting my constant urge to cheat. It made me sick of the game and hate each and every track with a passion.





Prize cars. So what you say, you win cars right ? Well till you hit the professional levels expect a lot of dogs. A lot. Your only joy will be selling them as fast as the button will click. Then the other horror. Like trading cards cars are inconsistantly rotated in the prize section. You may get the same crapola Clio 200 times before you get a good car. To top that it will take winning a 5 race series to find that out . Ouch. Did I pay for this game or did I just become it's slave ? I feel the chains even now. All I wanted was the GT 40. thats all. Forget it bud you are gonna get the Lancer VII again . AGGGH!!!!! What Gran Turismo did for Japanese car awareness, GT3 undoes. It makes you hate Japanese cars and tracks around the world.





Computer drivers, are they aggressive ? Yeah and they can and will knock you out of the way. Unlike real drivers they will hit you with no reguard for damage. This makes what was real about Gran Turismo 3 , unreal. What were they thinking ?





No race mods. Unlike the previous games this one will not allow you to upgrade the normal cars bodies . They will always be normal looking , but you can change wheels, oh, after you have opened up the limited selection by winning levels. The race versions are far up in the levels. Far up. The hot ones are locked but they show you just to tease you with what you will never own. The spinning wheel of prize hand outs will make that fact.





I hate attacking this game. Hate it. No wonder they took so long to get it out. The joy that comes with trying out the race monsters is completely ruined by a game that beleves it has the right to make you repeat tracks over and over, play for untold hours till you can hardly bear the sight of it . While the physics are somewhat improved and the graphics kicked up I have to say that GT 3 is an absolute failure in gameplay. Sad.


Like a date that looks great but turns out to be the most shallow person you ever met, this game has found a way to turn joy into sadness. GT3 gets a hard earned C+








---


Webby's comment - Thanks for the excellent review






 
ID #1531


I think that grand turismo is an excellent game its just that it does get boring like the others have said with the long hours of racing etc. Are these the only cheat codes for the damn game. I know their are better ones than this. What do I have to go to the store and buy a mag to get the goods all of a sudden because its a playstation 2 or did they make this game just way too complicated. How are little kids supposed to get the enjoyment of beating a game if its immpossible. I like the graphics and the real feel but god, lose the weak cars and the long races and we could have a winner. And make the cheat codes accesible without having to have a damn gameshark those things suck.






 
ID #1529

No game, ever, comes even close to matching this amazing title from Rockstar, DMA, and Renderware. All of the Duel Analogue controler functions are used, perfectly I might add. If the game itself isn't enough, it also has many mini games. Taxi people around in a game mode much like crazy taxi, eliminate criminals in vigilante mode. Do anything you want. If youv'e ever wanted to just go out and kill people for the heck of it, or steal cars, pick up prostitutes (who doesn't) than this is the game for you. An absolute best buy.





There is no doubt that you will stay up late playing this, and never need another game for your Playstation2. Fun, challenging, what else do you need. The most addictive game ever.












 
ID #1527


Ok here is where I start first I think it is very hard to win money. But I bought a car then made a goal the dodge viper. Well I made it then another goal the Escudo Pikes peak version (j). Well I strived through the big races then bang the rally races begin. so then I did the super speedway 150Miles and on my first try I got the FO90/s. Awsome turning. I think this is a great game.






 
ID #1525

PISTOL PETE's REVIEW OF


'GRAN TURISMO 3: A-SPEC'


FOR THE PS2




I have never had the joy (or unpleasantness, I’m not sure) of playing ‘Gran Turismo 2’, because I’m am told the gameplay is about the same but the graphics are a whole lot worse.


But I know that ‘Gran Turismo 3: A-SPEC’ is a fair bit better than number one is. I am shocked to see the amazing range of makes and models, but there is no used car shop, as there was on number one.


The graphics of this, even for a PS2 are slightly unbelievable. The replays are usually way better graphics than the actual race, but in my opinion the replay’s graphics are a right load of piffle.


In easiness, the controls get ten out of ten, but with easy control I feel no real challenge. Although, for young ones the controls are perfect.


The fact that there are no ‘self-simulated’ cheats bothered me slightly. But I’m sure the lucky people who have ‘X-PLODER’s’ or ‘Action Replay’ cheat disks are having a world of fun.




PISTOL PETE’s


Official Rating:




6


10













 
ID #1523
This game is the best game in the WORLD!! I love it, I love it, I love it!!! Its cool how you can race cars at a ton of different tracks! My favorite road car is the Pagani Zonda C12S. My favorite race is the Toyota GT-ONE Race Car. When you play this game, you will become so addicted, you won't play anything else! Hope you like the game!






 
Latest Forum Posts
 
Game Talk
LINKS FROM THE WEB..
 
 

 
Latest Videos